TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Text file database/parameters/variables question(s)

Page: 1 Reply
Aug 20th 2004#158837 Report
Hello,
I'm just getting started with PHP (4) and the only thing I really need to do right now is grab information from a text file, but I can't find anywhere with code snippets or tutorials that are doing what I want to do, they're always more complicated than necessary.

Anyway, my site (sparktasty.net) has loads of wallpapers that I've made on it and at the moment when you click a thumbnail, the preview pops up in it's own window which looks quite ugly. I wanted to have a "template" page and load that each time, but grab the details of the image from a textfile and make the template complete, ie, fill it in with information.

I wanted to parse the link like this:
[HTML]Test Image Link[/HTML]

and when that PHP page loads, have it read variables from a text file with the name of the variable in the link (testimage). So "testimage.txt" would look something like this:
[HTML]
imagename=Test Image
birth=25/12/1999
app=Photoshop
comment=This is some random blurb for an image that doesn't even exist
[/HTML]

Is my question clear?

If anyone has any helpful hints and/or links, please post.

ThanX, BYEEEEE!!
Reply with Quote Reply
Aug 20th 2004#158844 Report
For that, you would probably find it easier to use a mySQL database instead of seperate textfiles for each image.
You won't have trouble finding a tutorial on how to retrieve information from a mySQL database with php ;)
Reply with Quote Reply
Aug 20th 2004#158849 Report
But I want complete control and since I'm new to all this, I'd rather just use text files which can be edited/created/etc from any computer with any OS.