TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Cross Browser Design

Page: 1 2 Reply
May 3rd 2003#101942 Report
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to web design, I've only done one site and one for a friend, but since I'm a novice I have no idea on how to design for other browsers. :(

Do any of you know of good sites where I can find tutorials on how to design in cross browser platforms.

Your help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks a million.

Cheers,

.: Z E R I M A R 3 :.
Reply with Quote Reply
May 3rd 2003#101956 Report
Never design for a browser. Just make compliant code and your pages will load right in all the newer browsers. That is really all you can do anymore...
Reply with Quote Reply
May 3rd 2003#102003 Report
I'm sorry here, maybe I'm a little slow, but how do you make then compliant? I have looked at the web consortium, and I'm trying to understand this. Is there any place online to offer advice on this. I'm looking into taking a class next semester in school, although I'm an English Literature major, I have found web design very interesting.

Thanks for your time
Reply with Quote Reply
May 4th 2003#102018 Report
Just learn HTML, CSS, and Javascript. What Pank is saying is you dont need to worry about hacks or what code doesnt work with which browsers. That isnt so much of an issue anymore. There are a few CSS styles that are not cross browser, but those tend to be extra stuff that isnt critical if a browser doesnt use it, like custom scroll bars, or custom mouse pointers, etc.
But a good idea is to make sure you have access to viewing your designs from the major browsers, Internet Explorer, Netscape, Mozilla, Opera. Now dont be so concerned if your site isnt 100% correct for older browsers. If you want my opinion, if they havent bothered to upgrade and still use a browser that is 3 years old. Too bad, you cant design for 4% of the population.