TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Domain Forwarding...how?

Page: 1 2 Reply
Jun 19th 2005#168874 Report
Call me stupid, I've never done this before. Okay, don't call me stupid, I'm learning. I've have an account with registerfly.com and I think Deker stated he had a domain or two there as well...so any help *cough cough* Deker would be greatly appreciated, or anyone with some information.

I googled what I was looking for and only found services for domain forwarding. Now is it safe to assume that you cannot just forward any domain name to where you want it to go?

Is there a place in your control panel that allows you to do this or do you have to pay for it to be done or have your domain with a company that allows it to be redirected? I have a domain name that I want to point somewhere else, can I do it on its own or do I have to build a page for it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm trying to figure out how to do this.

Cheers!
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 19th 2005#168875 Report
I use RegisterFly, so here goes. First, log into RegisterFly. Click Manage Domains, and then click on the domain you want to forward. Scroll down to URL Redirection Settings and click on "set url framing/ redirection/ forwarding for this domain". Follow the directions there and you should be set.
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 19th 2005#168883 Report
Galaphile, I went the route you told me to go, and it went like clockwork. I got a notification sent to my email stating that it would be a while to update. Would you happen to know how long it takes to have it updated? It's been about 4-5 hours now as I'm writing this post.

One more thing. Is this pretty much a standard way of redirecting domain names on every registrar or does each one differ? Thanks for your time and help.

Cheers!
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 19th 2005#168888 Report