TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Are you good enouph to get a graphic designer job?

Page: 1 2 Reply
Jul 14th 2001#8515 Report
Well, are you good enough to get a graphic designer job? If so, show us your portfolio or what ever you have and lets have some answers! By the way, I am trying to get a graphic designer job so that's why I made this post. I think it would be a fun topic. Ok, lets start!
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 14th 2001#8517 Report
Can someone tell me how you make a living off of being a graphic designer?
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 14th 2001#8522 Report
I know I'm not lol
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 14th 2001#8532 Report
K, guess I'll start. I've worked for a failed dot-com as a designer/coder, a web consulting firm as a web designer, my own company with three other partners doing web/multimedia/print design, and I'm currently freelancing doing web/multimedia/print work. Portfolio is FigDigital. Any questions fire away...

Chris
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 15th 2001#8547 Report
Well I started out like most of you newer guys did, just teaching myself Photoshop and HTML, Dreamweaver, Javascript, PHP, etc etc etc. Also reading a lot about usability and how users navigate sites, and a lot more general stuff about design and web site design. Not just learning how to use the programs. Just because you are good at photoshop doesn't mean you are a good web designer. There is a whole lot more to consider than pretty pictures.

Anyway, I made a few personal sites... Then started helping my dad who had also been teaching himself web design, and he started doing some sites for Doctor friends of his. Then we formed our own company, started going to Business Network International meetings, the Chamber of Commerce, picking up clients here and there. And now we do it full time all day long.