TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Newbie needs advice on font edging

Page: 1 Reply
Oct 7th 2008#181087 Report
Hello,

I'm new to this forum obviously. I'm not terribly new at photoshop, I've been using it for a few years and have always had the latest version thanks to a job that pays for my licensing.

I've been noticing some trouble. I'm trying to make a clean logo for a blog i have. I need an outline on one of the font layers to define it better. But when I do this, i get a jagged result. No matter what i do?

I've rasterized the font and done everything else I can think of but it still looks terrible.

Can anyone think of what might be causing this issue and how to resolve it? I'm not skilled enough to know. I'm referring to the 1px ouline in white that is placed on the font.

Here's a link to the PSD so you can see the differences. If you hide the 'Text Background' layer you can see what i'm getting at.
http://www.fosterkitty.com/stuff/header.psd
Reply with Quote Reply
Oct 8th 2008#181100 Report
Did I ask this in the wrong forum?
Reply with Quote Reply
Oct 9th 2008#181144 Report
Have you tried using a style on the font instead? Just a thought. I tried to open your psd but all I got was page coding. Can you upload the image somewhere else so I can see exactly what you are talkin about.. Maybe I can help, but without seeing what your talking about exactly, I'm not sure.
Reply with Quote Reply
Oct 10th 2008#181147 Report
That's what I'm using is a font style. Just a 1px stroke. I rasterized the font too. In fact, I thought maybe it was just a poorly made font before so I switched to Impact which I figured would be fine.

Not sure what the problem is opening the file. Did you save it prior to opening it? Just to make it easier I zipped it up. Keep in mind this is optimized for CS3.
http://www.fosterkitty.com/stuff/header.zip