TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Help creating a yellow brick road.

Page: 1 Reply
Mar 8th 2004#144731 Report
New here and a newbie at PS. I'm working on an idea, without much luck achieving the desired effect. I would like to create a path that looks like it's made of golden bricks. Here's a link to give you an idea of what I'm trying to achieve.

http://www.geocities.com/topcaddy69/pics/testimg.gif

This is my first attempt and I don't like how it's turning out. I want the brick pattern to tighten as it moves down the path(a realistic look of depth). And I'd like the path to look more like real gold. Any ideas or tutorial links for this would help! Thanx, in advance!
Reply with Quote Reply
Mar 8th 2004#144740 Report
real gold

- well think about gold. What color is it? Or is it a color? In my opinion..... its more a reflection based color. Like chrome. The trick to good chrome is the base color is the darkest (usually black) and the white highlights define the chrome. So with gold........i would have a base color of dark orange/red or brown...then use variartions of orange/red/yellow/white (or any one of them) to make the highlights.

How do u do this? well.......change the yellow you have to one of the "darker" colors above, and either with a small paint brush (if your comfortable with drawing by hand) to paint the reflections/highlight in....or use a photograph. Destaturate the photo(s), bring up the contrast and use colordoge/overlay/hardlight to make the highlights. Also if you use a photo....bring down the opacity of that layer (maybe 20-50 %) so the reflections are somewhat softer.

(a realistic look of depth)