TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

php file mangement & extension

Page: 1 Reply
Oct 29th 2003#126949 Report
This maybe really stupid since I have no knowledge of php whatsoever so need some help, you know when you go to a site the web page in the address bar always stays http://blahblah.com/index.php?id=somthing well I was wondering how do you do that or maybe someone can give me a more clear understanding, thanks, also I don't really know what's it called.
Reply with Quote Reply
Oct 29th 2003#126953 Report
Well that is using Get method rather than Post method. But an example of how to use that sort of dealy in php pages:

1. you create some page called 'index.php'

2. On that page you have a 2 button navigation (to keep it simple.) - Home and Contact.

You break the page into 3 sections - ie. you include the header section, and the footer section so you can easily alter those pages, then include them into your php pages. But instead of creating a new page for each page you have, why not just create one page, then leave the content blank. Then depending on where you go in the site navigation, you let php fill the pages using a GET method.

3. so now we have index.php, header.inc.php, footer.inc.php, home.php, and contact.php. -> where contact.php and home.php are pages without any header or footer - ie they contain only the content.

so how does that work with index.php? example:

[php]/* index.php */

include('header.inc.php');

$id = $_GET['id'];

switch ($id) {

case 'home':
include('home.php');
break;

case 'contact':
include('contact.php');
break;

default:
include('home.php');

} # end switch

include('footer.inc.php');
[/php]
with the default, if someone typed in 'index.php' it would default to the home page.
See how nice and clean those pages are looking? You can break pages into little bits for easy updating and also for logical organisation.