TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Digital Painting

Page: 1 Reply
Oct 4th 2004#161075 Report
This is my first attempt at a digital painting. I never really attepted one before, because with traditional painting, though I thought I could colour/shade well, I always thought my drawing was weak. None the less, we were required to do a painting for my Graphic Design class, worth 25% of out term mark.

To be honest, It turned out much betterthen I expected, having never tried one of these before. Anyways, It's definate portfolio material, so if you ntice anything, point it out. +)

:: l i n k ::
Reply with Quote Reply
Oct 5th 2004#161090 Report
It looks good, but I can't help but notice, did you overpaint this? Meaning did you paint it over an existing picture? It looks really like you did. If you didn't, of course, then hats off to you.

Um, I don't really have any critiques, aside from the fact that the tree and the snow behind the bear seem to have been done with some kind of filters. Chrome, perhaps? I'd try to steer clear of this for future paintings. You'll find that with the right combination of brushes you'll really be able to capture the look of the treebark better than any stock filter can.

What kind of portfolio are you considering making this a part of? One for college admission, or for personal reference to potential clients?

If for college, I'd encourage you to add more realistic pieces, and much much more drawing, rather than creative pieces such as this. For a fine arts degree, the school wants to see that you know the mechanics of art moreso than you know various media. They assume that you will learn all that there.

All in all, keep up the good work.
Reply with Quote Reply
Oct 5th 2004#161091 Report
That's a picture that comes with photoshop (6 for sure...maybe CS). It kinda looks like you liquified it, chromed it, and painted over it.