TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

what to look for in a digicam?

Page: 1 2 Reply
Jun 10th 2002#52484 Report
i've been thinking of purchasing a digital camera since this here section started up, but i'm no pro at taking pictures, in fact i've never owned a camera that wasn't disposable :(

i'm caught in a jumble, I've found some that SEEM good, but I really got no idea how they stack up eachother...since i'm not professional and just mainly using this as means of getting me some stock photos etc...i don't know what features i need and do not need; ex: manual focus, auto [anything] , ISO numbers? exposure compensation? resolution, what's the diff?

well here's the list i compiled...and i really don't know if they are still this much...but if they are can u suggest some like around 300 and below thanks. and i kinda want it compact-ish..

casio gv20
Olympus C34040Z
Panasonic DMC-LC20
Sony DSC-S85
Pentax Optio 230
Kodak DC5000
Kodak DC5000

thanks!
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 10th 2002#52487 Report
hey, since this will be your first camera, a 2 megapixel camera would fit your needs, my first camera was a canon powershot A40(that would be good for you as well) Ill define some of those terms for you
manual focus: when you yourself make the picture clear
auto functions:when your camera does something for you by itself
ISO: on film cameras this is film speed
try dpreview.com for reviews..........Id say the best camera out of those listed is the Olympus
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 10th 2002#52488 Report
i don't see the canon powershot a40 in there :p :D

[edit] bah, davejatsv already mentioned it [/edit]

[edit2] and you do realize the olympus is $800, right? lol [/edit2]
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 10th 2002#52490 Report
yea i notice those prices are high, but some other preview/review for cameras seem out of date, so i'm not sure if those prices are current.