TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Help me spend money... 20D vs Rebel XT

Page: 1 2 Reply
Apr 4th 2005#167215 Report
I get all set to order a new 20D last week, and low-n-behold I find out that Canon has released not just an update to their consumer DSLR (300D); but a whole new camera in the EOS 350D (Rebel XT). 8.0 MP; image quality right up there with the 20D. Differences are:

plastic body (instead of magnesium)
slightly slower AF (hair difference)
shorter expected life for shutter mechanism
smaller format body
3 fps burst (instead of 5)

Frankly I'm having a hard time justifying spending another $500 US to get the 20D. I'm not a professional photographer, I don't know if I'm worthy of the 20D! :rolleyes:

$500 could go a long way toward building up a new PC, or would buy a kick-arse lens for the camera. I've read many of the debates and arguments on dpreview.com forums on this subject. I guess my only concern is that some day I'm going to regret having settled for the Rebel XT--but frankly, I think by the time I'm GOOD enough with my photography to notice the difference, technology will have leap-frogged again, and we'll have cameras with laser-sighting and focus shooting 19MP images.

Thoughts? :confused:
Reply with Quote Reply
Apr 4th 2005#167217 Report
I don't think there are THAT big difference between those cameras.
At least for a non professional photographer.
I just got the 300D from my client and I love it.
I really don't think I need a better camera than that one.
But yeah, 20D or Canon 350D is a hard one.
My suggestion would be to buy the a bit less expensive camera and buy some really good lences instead, I think cameras like 300D and up doesn't have that much better stuff, then it more comes to what kind of lences you have... and they are expensive...
Reply with Quote Reply
Apr 4th 2005#167220 Report