TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

mac or PC for 3D

Page: 1 Reply
Jan 9th 2002#26420 Report
Hi
I am a multimedia designer and use countless pieces of software to produce the end result.
I prefer to use a pc due to the flexibility and multitasking capabilities it holds over a Mac.
However i spent most of this week over at our publishing department where it is all Mac based.
It always makes me laugh how possessive mac users are to their machines and will defend it to the death.
Anyway, i am now being told that not only is the mac far superior to PC's with the likes of Photoshop and Quark, it would also kick a PC's arse with 3D.
Now, i am not bothered either way, but it is always fun winding them up.
I admit the mac's may be faster with PS & Quark but i find it hard to believe that a mac could outperform a PC with 3D, especially considering that not too long ago, there were no decent 3D apps for the mac.

And Deker's comment in the thread 'best 3D app'

In "The One" they used poser and lightwave for the previs stuff. On Dual 867mhz G4s of course...

what's that all about then
Reply with Quote Reply
Jan 9th 2002#26441 Report
The graphics world is "owned" by the Mac and has been for ages. I've been doing print graphics and typsetting since the late 80's and I have yet to see a PC workflow that could out perform a Mac workflow.

Color managment alone sets the mac apart from the PC.

Don't get me wrong, PCs have come a LONG way. I still remember standing in an electronic store one day and over hearing a clerk say : "Yes Ma'am, with this 8 meg of RAM you can set up a 4 Meg RAM "drive". I watched her face go blank, she had NO idea what he was talking about. I did, and remember thinking... "Yeah but try running Photoshop on that bastard." At the time we were running Macs with 64 Meg.