TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

making a website

Page: 1 Reply
Jun 8th 2003#107269 Report
ok, ok, here we go...

I've been thinking about it and I want to make my own website... I've looked around, took some infos on the design and what looks good and not, but I have a big problem, I don't know what to use!

I know there is microsoft frontpage, but does it make good looking website? Take this website for exemple, did Pank made it with FrontPage? I've heard about coding everything, but I'm not really good with that stuff...

Do you know any other good programs to do that kind of things... I've heard about macromedia cold fusion, is it good?

anyway, a little help would be appreciated, haha :D

oh and sorry if I barely make sense :rolleyes:
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 8th 2003#107271 Report
I hand code, but the best from what I've heard is Macromedia Dreamweaver.
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 13th 2003#108335 Report
Absolutely not, doolittle. The very best is handcoding.
Dreamweaver is littlemore than a timesaver and does nothing you can't handcode by yourself.

With handcoding, it may take the most time and be the hardest but you achieve the greatest flexibility. I have a saying; "The more user-friendly a system becomes, the less flexible and powerful it becomes," and this applies to html as well.

Plus, when something goes awry with your site, you wanna be able to open up the code and know how to fix it, which is impossible unless you actually know the code.

OncleSam, learn how to handcode with Notepad. You won't regret it.

If you need a tutorial, you can use http://webmonkey.com or http://pagetutor.com . Personally I used pagetutor (this was before I heard of webmonkey) but either should work.
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 13th 2003#108340 Report
Cold Fusion is a scripting language, not a HTML program.