TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Preloader Scene

Page: 1 Reply
Jul 6th 2001#7716 Report
Does anyone know how to create a true percentage preloader in a separate scene from the main one?

this is what i have in the preloader scene

percent = Math.round((_root.getBytesLoaded()/_root.getBytesTotal()) * 100)

but when i stream it, the percentage stays at zero.
Any solutions?
Thnx in advance
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 7th 2001#7811 Report
If you just want a percentage why don't you just use.

percent = Math.round( ( framesLoaded/totalFrames)*100)

If it were a different level you wanted to preload and show a percetage just use the _leveln._framesLoaded etc...
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 7th 2001#7833 Report
Somebody's been reading ;)

Chris
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 7th 2001#7834 Report
hi it was probably me, well i have a question, i am a newbie to flash, i dont know all the actions and what not, but i do know how to make a preloader, but i dont know how to do the percent thing like he was talking about, it seems he knows more about percenting then i do, i know nothing, when would i type that

percent = Math.round( ( framesLoaded/totalFrames)*100)
where would it appear, and one last thing, can i have a preloader that reloads one section of the loader, or is that not possible
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 7th 2001#7837 Report
Originally posted by knuckler
can i have a preloader that reloads one section of the loader, or is that not possible

heres an example http://www.2advanced.com/skatejam2000/sj2k-website.html where the squares are loaded again and the tech dots are not, does anyone know how thats done
Reply with Quote Reply
Jul 7th 2001#7845 Report
Ok, that code would go on a frame action at the beginning of your movie, just double-click the first frame on a blank layer (in Flash 5) and it'll pull up your actionscript dialogue box.