TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Pixelated Text and drawings in Photoshop

Page: 1 Reply
Mar 26th 2009#197098 Report
Hello All,

First off I am very new to photoshop. I think I have made a simple settings mistake but for the life of me I can not find out what I have done wrong.

I am trying to add some simple text to an image, but I noticed that all the text is pixelated (I am not sure if that is the world). The edges look jagged, it looks like a raster image. I was under the impression that text in photoshop is vector. So I am not sure of what is happening. Have a look at a screen shot to understand what I am talking about. I have uploaded the image to http://i43.tinypic.com/2ujl4cg.jpg

After which I tried to create some shapes. But all them also look pixelated/jagged. You can have a look at what I am talking about by going to http://i43.tinypic.com/awb3va.jpg

I tried to create the circle with the Ellipse tool as well as the the marquee tool and tried to fill it. But both the methods gave the same result.

I am not sure what is happening. Any one have any idea how I can fix this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Dave
Reply with Quote Reply
Mar 27th 2009#197110 Report
You've got the zoom set on 600%.
Reply with Quote Reply
Mar 27th 2009#197114 Report
Thanks for the reply PaavoPerkele.

But the zoom should not be a problem right. Text in Photoshop is vector right, so no matter the zoom level it should not look pixelated. Or am I missing something here.

If you look at the second image the circle I get with the marquee tool is also off. So I am not sure if this is a zoom issue or am I wrong?
Reply with Quote Reply
Mar 27th 2009#197115 Report
The text is in vector, sure, but it'll render sharp only @ 100% or less. You can, of course, blow text up as much as you wish without losing quality. Photoshop is a bitmap program.
Reply with Quote Reply