TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Micrography in Photoshop

Page: 1 Reply
Feb 24th 2009#196461 Report
I'm not a photoshop expert by any means. I'm not even a graphic designer. I'm a musician. I just want to know how the heck this works.

My cousin's friend Carson is the guy who does this marvelous work for LA Pop Art:

It's the entire movie script turned into the poster.

It's inspired by ancient Jewish Micrography like this:

I asked him how he does it, and he quite vaguely replied by saying he "uses photoshop" to plan stuff out before he draws it.

I'm just wondering how exactly he takes a pre-existing image like this:

and so precisely re-creates it, with all of the movie's script perfectly packed into the image. I know he draws it all by hand and it takes hundreds of hours, but he must somehow plan out where exactly all of the text is going to be before hand.

Heres a crop of another example:

It's all of the text from the entire book. Notice how in white areas like on Dorthy's shirt, the text is spaced out to create lightning effects? How does he lay it out so perfectly? If he has the text ready on his computer, how does he account for the differences between his handwriting and the computer fonts? Notice how the text stretches and shrinks? How would he plan for/account for that? And how does he plan the coloring/shading?

I'm completely baffled.
Reply with Quote Reply
Feb 26th 2009#196547 Report
anyone?:confused:
Reply with Quote Reply
Feb 26th 2009#196548 Report
hi,
just a novice but it basically simple... it doesn't take hundreds of manhours unelss yur doing a lot stuff....

in word processor set it up there no carrage returns or indentations, etc....
in photoshop
1. open your main image,
2. . find the font you want to use...
3. then open up a text layer