TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

new member :: new website

Page: 1 Reply
Oct 8th 2005#170764 Report
hey everyone.

i've been designing for 5 years, started as a hobby, now i'm currently enrolled in a multimedia design course @ Fasnshawe College in Ontario (for those who know where that is) and hopefully i can turn it into a career after i graduate in april.

on to the design:

it's for a school assignment worth 40%of my final grade. the goal is to brand ourselves as designers and create a commercial quality web-based portoflio for ourseleves, integrating all apects of this semesters' courses (xhtml/css, php, JavaScsipt, flash, and 3D animation)

i've soent about a month conceptualizing this new concept, and i've reaached a stage i'm happy with, and now i'm loking for feedback on it.

** Main / Home Page **

* this is the only page so far; tier 1 pages follow same basic structure w/ unique flash elements.
* i still want to tweak the flash to it runs smoother / cleaner

best regards,
derek lapp.

** I'll do some colaborations for NON-PROFIT if anyone wants to. contact me if you're interested.
Reply with Quote Reply
Oct 8th 2005#170768 Report
Looks good for a student portfolio. A few initial thoughts though:

1. Dictionary entries for your name...This is the first thing every student does to add an element to a page. At least you didn't do it as an intro/splash page. I'd personally spend a bit of time thinking of something a bit more creative to go there. It's just gone beyond overdone...amost to the point where it's a staple design element to students (and some professionals).

2. The type is a bit skinny and in my opinion is not attractive enough to suit your site. It's close, but look at your real name, it seems squished, and not through leading.