TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

self-taught vs. technowebsites

Page: 1 Reply
Jun 21st 2004#153961 Report
hey there - my first post

im self-taught in everything i do - so whay you see isnt a product of a school or anything like it:

www.littlefever.com

how does it work out - i know the site is lacking both order and easy-to-use menus: but this is how far i´ve gotten without any help at all.... so does it add up?

i kinda think its nice to have a NON
futuristic site - but thats just me!
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 21st 2004#153968 Report
First before I comment on anything else, 1280x1024 is a fairly large requirement. Im not saying you can't design for that size, but just be aware that much of your audience may have smaller screens. 1024x768 is really the norm....im sure there's still 800x600 etc.

About the splash, the color on black&white leading your eye to "enter" works well. The splash actually isnt needed (unless it provides useful information....screen resolution isnt useful as ppl wont change theirs just to view the site)......but if you want it just for flare or artistic purposes thats cool.

The main site: All good until the i-frame. Reason being its square...when no line on the entire layout can be called straight. Basically it becomes a distraction....and pulls your attention away from the navigation. You dont need all your news to be displayed at once.....so on your main page you could just display 1 or 2 headlines (or stories) and archive the older ones. Also text (instead of the iframe) would fit well and add to the randomness/chaos that the layout has.

Overall....not bad. Welcome.
Reply with Quote Reply
Jun 22nd 2004#153985 Report
agreed with rodder, you did a pretty interesting job. Other than what rodder said...