TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Building a PC, is it all that hard?

Page: 1 2 Reply
Mar 29th 2004#146674 Report
Hey,

I'm not ignorant when it comes to PCs, but I'm not an expert either (but I'm getting there). I was wondering, is building a PC all that hard? I've heard from one person, that it was similar to "building a lego set". Anyways, I am wanting to build a PC that will handle frequent gaming and video/image graphic design.

I'm aiming for...

- 1 Gig of RAM.
- A CPU speed anywhere above 3 Ghz.
- 120 gigs of Hard Disk space.
- GeForce FX 5950.
- Pentium 4.
- CD-ROM, with CD-RW capabilites.
- DVD-ROM.

...I know where the parts go in what place, but the main problem I'm having is figuring out if some componets will function correctly with others. Also, questions such as...

- How many fans should I get? What type? How do you tell which ones are quieter than others?

- Should I get DDR Ram, or something else?

...my dream project would to be able to build my own PC, without worrying about forking over thousands of dollars for a heavy-duty gaming machine like an Alienware.
Reply with Quote Reply
Mar 29th 2004#146688 Report
Building pc's is easy. Majority of the plugs will only fit one way and for one thing (ie you can't stick a power plug into an ide slot :P ) The mobo will come with a manual so if you spend 10 minutes and read the "setup for the impatient" somewhere it will tell you what to plug in. If you buy your rig from a shop, they can at least assemble it for you for free since you are buying the whole thing :D ....

You can buy your cd-dvd drive as one unit. If you don't want it to burn dvd's, then they are cheap. I paid $80 CA for a 52x's burner and 16x's DVD reader about 3 weeks ago.

As far as fans go you'd have to ask one of the hardware pros here for which ones are the quietest.