TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Biostar Motherboards

Page: 1 Reply
Dec 27th 2003#135056 Report
Does anyone own, have any experience with or knowledge about Biostar motherboards? I'm building my brother and sister-in-law a new computer for a late Christmas present and found a decent deal on a Biostar mobo with an XP 2400.

The problem is, I have no knowledge of this particular company. There is a [tight] set budget, so going for something like an Asus, Gigabyte or something isn't really affordable. Going by Pricewatch, there's about a $50 difference ($100 for the Biostar/cpu).
Reply with Quote Reply
Dec 27th 2003#135063 Report
What model is it? Or more precisely, what chipset?

They're not generally bad, but have had some bad models.

Basically, if you're not an overclocker, you look at general features and things you need and don't need. If the features fit you well, and the deal is good, then take it.

If there are problems, then, usually, some (or even all) can be fixed by flashing the most recent BIOS. It's easy.
Reply with Quote Reply
Dec 27th 2003#135067 Report
The particular model I was looking at is the M7VIP. They have a couple of more models for a few bucks more, I just picked the first one that I ran across.
Reply with Quote Reply
Dec 27th 2003#135068 Report
Originally posted by MobileBadBoy
The particular model I was looking at is the M7VIP. They have a couple of more models for a few bucks more, I just picked the first one that I ran across.

Eh, it nothing special but it'll get the job done. If something fails, you can always play the RMA game.
Reply with Quote Reply
Dec 27th 2003#135070 Report
I guess I'll just wait and see if I can come up with 50 or 60 extra bucks. The downside is some of the money I have will disappear before then. :(
Reply with Quote Reply
Dec 27th 2003#135112 Report