TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Design Tools

Page: 1 Reply
May 5th 2001#2944 Report
Hey. I'm an artist, yet I haven't really ever done any original work using my computer. I mean, I've done a decent amount of web design, and I am pretty good at manipulating images and creating simple logos and buttons in paintshop pro, etc. I also have some experience using Flash 5. However, I see a lot of fantastic websites out there and think to myself: "I probably have enough skill do something like that, but I just don't have the necessary knowledge or tools."

I have artistic talent, and I can draw pretty much anything by hand, but I simply just don't have the same ability when it comes to creating high quality original work using my computer. Thus, leading me to ask the following questions: What steps should I take to begin developing graphic design skills? Are there any outstanding books out there? Which software packages (aside from Flash) should I get familiar with? Are there any tools that are essential to graphic design (how are those graphics tablets)? And finally, are Macs really worth it for graphic design and if so, does this apply to all Macs or just the really expensive ones?

I would greatly appreciate any feedback whatsoever. Thank you very much.
Reply with Quote Reply
May 5th 2001#2945 Report
1) Photoshop and a text editor are all you really need. I say photoshop cause it tends to be one of the most used for web/print/etc graphics. HTML editors come in a variety of flavors. I personally prefer plain text editors and not WYSIWYG like Dreamweaver, PageMill, Frontpage or Frame Maker.