TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Can I get some help/suggestions please?

Page: 1 Reply
Feb 22nd 2006#172171 Report
I'm still fairly new at this CSS stuff, and I was playing with a page for a friend of mine. They're getting married soon and wanted to have a page up for information.

You can view the page here:
http://members.cox.net/teamfx/wedding/crsite.html

I would like to know why it falls apart in Firefox but renders well in IE...any suggestions? Thanks a million for the help.

Cheers!
Reply with Quote Reply
Feb 22nd 2006#172172 Report
First of all I would highly recommend formatting your CSS like this:

p {
background: #fff;
color: #000;
}

Or something similar. It makes it MUCH easier to read and have an idea of what is going on.

Second, I would look at something like http://www.inknoise.com/experimental/layoutomatic.php to give you a starting template to work with. Basically your problem is different default margins and padding defaults in different browsers, because you just have a few divs stacked on top of each other with a background image. Things need to be formated differently in the HTML, as well as the CSS. Like I said, take a look at the code that little site generates, or search for CSS layouts and look at how other layouts are done to get a better idea of how to construct the page.
Reply with Quote Reply
Feb 22nd 2006#172178 Report
Thanks for the lead to InkNoise Deker, I used to have that site in my bookmarks until I lost my bookmarks, but I'm glad you pointed me to it again. I'll also restructure the CSS, I normally work with it the way until I get to the point of creating the CSS document. For some reason it's easier for me to follow it the way it is while I set up the site. But thanks for your input man, I appreciate it.

Cheers!
Reply with Quote Reply
Feb 24th 2006#172187 Report