TeamPhotoshop
Reviews, updates and in depth guides to your favourite mobile games - AppGamer.com
Forum Home Latest Posts Search Help Subscribe

Domain Registration, what is involved??

Page: 1 2 Reply
Dec 16th 2002#82414 Report
I am a newbie to websites and I have just designed a website in Dreamweaver for my dad\\\'s photography business. The problem is I added it to my website making the address very long. I was wondering what is the best site for registering that adddress? Is it relitively cheap in price? Do I have to contact my local ISP and let them know that I have changed that address to whatever or do I just contact this domain regit=stration place and that\\\'s it?
Any advise or help would be very beneficial. I know nothing about doing this so as much info as possible would be very helpful.

Thanks,
Senna

« Last edited by Rich on Jul 16th 2014 »
Reply with Quote Reply
Dec 16th 2002#82420 Report
Basically, you find some place to register your domain - one year, two years, four years, up to you. Then you find a company to host your website. Now a days just about any good host company provides domain registration for relatively cheap. The company that used to handle a lot of this was Network Solutions, which you set up an account with and administer your own domain, but I would stay away from them. (NetSol or Verisign is there names.)
Otherwise then the hosting company usually handles the domain name.

So.... You check to see if the domain is available, then rent the name for the period of time you want.